Judge blocks sound engineer's release of Prince EP

'Deliverance' Denied: Release Of Posthumous Prince Record Stopped By Judge

And then, in February, Prince's estate made a deal with Universal Music Group for his music made after 1995, which includes some 25 albums. "I Am", "Touch Me", "Sunrise Sunset" and "No One Else" accompanies the title track which dropped Tuesday night.

Independent record company Rogue Music Alliance (RMA) said earlier this week that the six songs were recorded by Prince between 2006 and 2008 and Boxill spent the past year completing, arranging and mixing the songs.

While the The Purple One's estate argues the songs "remain Prince's sole and exclusive property", Boxill, who has worked with the likes of rapper Tupac Shakur, said that the pop legend would have appreciated the independent release and was always looking for ways to distribute his music outside of major labels - "Deliverance" will appear on the indie label Rogue Music Alliance (RMA). When the legal battle broke out earlier, Prince's new album, the Deliverance, was pulled off iTunes and other music downloading apps as the singer's estate filed a lawsuit and requested a restraining order against the producer of the extended play.

Boxil said in a statement, "I believe "Deliverance" is a timely release with everything going on in the world today, and in light of the one-year anniversary of his passing. When considering how to release this important work, we made a decision to go independent because that's what Prince would have wanted".

According to court documents, Judge Wilhelmina Wright also ordered engineer Ian Boxhill to hand over all "original recordings, analog and digital copies, and any derivative works" to Prince's estate.

The judge issued a restraining order for the Deliverance EP, meaning it will not be released on April 21st. Prince's estate and Paisley Park Enterprises sued to block it.

The temporary restraining order is set to expire on May 3 unless Wright decides to extend it.



Otras noticias