Carter Jr. Named to 2017 Bednarik Award Watch List

Notre Dame Football: Nyles Morgan on '17 Bednarik Watch List

The Maxwell Award is given annually to the top player in the nation. The award began in 1937.

Dawson and Jefferson were each named to the watch list for the 23rd Bednarik Award and Zaire was selected to the 81st annual Maxwell Award watch list for the third-straight year.

Watch List Week is here, and Notre Dame is already well represented.

Entering his junior season, Scott has rushed for 1,693 yards (65.1 ypg; 5.1 avg.) and 17 touchdowns in 26 career games, including 11 starts.

The Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be presented on December 7 as part of a made-for-television postseason awards show. The two-time first-team All-ACC honoree has led the league in tackles each of the past two seasons.

Morgan led Notre Dame with 94 tackles and four sacks last season, his first as a full-time starter. Chuck Bednarik, former standout at Penn and with the Philadelphia Eagles, is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame and the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Brown has been one of the highly rated offensive tackles in college football and is projected to go high in the 2018 NFL Draft. He also rushed for 139 yards against No. 2 MI on October 29, the most by a player against the Wolverines during the regular season. James, a redshirt sophomore, made the list despite playing in just two games last season, recording 11 tackles and an interception before going down with a season-ending meniscus tear. Richardson has also forced four career fumbles, recovered three fumbles and broke up three passes. He has eight sacks and 18 tackles for loss in his career and was named to the Bednarik watch list a year ago. The Nittany Lions open the season against Akron (Sept. 2; noon) and face Pitt (Sept. 9; 3:30 p.m.) and Georgia State (Sept. 16) to close out a three-game homestand to start the year.



Otras noticias