Presidential poll sees near 100% voting

33% of MPs MLAs who will vote for India’s next president have criminal cases against them Survey

The total voting percentage was reportedly close to 99 per cent which is the highest voter turnout in presidential polls. Counting will be held on July 20 at 11 am. BJP's leader Ram Nath Kovind was former Governor of Bihar who was announced as the Bharatiya Janata party led NDA's candidate for the post of India's president by Amit Shah on June 19.

President Pranab Mukherjee demits office on July 25.

Kovind, 72, if elected, will be the second Dalit President after KR Narayanan.

Instances of cross-voting have been reported in five States, including Gujarat, UP, Haryana, Punjab and Tripura, during the presidential polls as MPs and MLAs in the country made a beeline to polling stations to choose the 14th President of the nation.

Value of the vote of each MLA is 26 and MP both for Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha is 708.

Panaji: Voting for the presidential election is underway at the Goa secretariat at Porvorim today morning with chief minister Manohar Parrikar among those to cast votes in the first one hour. Her nomination, which followed Kovind's, was seen by many as the opposition's attempt to counter Modi's move to woo dalits. The Electoral College which elects the President through the system of proportional representation comprises MPs and members of state legislative assemblies.

The poll panel will provide electors a unique serial numbered pen with violet ink to mark their votes. Three MPs – Badruddin Ajmal, Siraj Uddin Ajmal and Radheshyam Biswas – will cast their votes in the State Assembly. Among the first MLAs to vote was BJP MLA C.T. Ravi.

All the 175 MLAs in Andhra Pradesh exercised their franchise in the Presidential election today.

Out of the total electorate, as many as 1,581 MPs and MLAs accounting for 33 per cent have criminal cases against them, the analysis of their affidavits by the ADR and the NEW showed. An official said that MPs and MLAs will not be allowed to carry their personal pens inside the voting hall.

The date also revealed that the UPA (INC, IUML, RSP, KC (M), DMK) has 34,692 votes in Lok Sabha, 46,020 in Raj Sabha, 93,137 votes in state assemblies that comes a total of 173,849 votes with around 16 percent of vote to the upcoming 2017 Presidential Election of India.



Otras noticias